Guide to Library Catalogs
Use these catalogs to find books and other items in the libraries.
If you want to look up journal articles, use article databases instead.
|
|
|
- Find books and other items in most libraries at UC Berkeley.
What's included?
- See listings for some items in the Northern Regional
Library Facility (NRLF) that are not included in Melvyl.
- Search any part of the catalog record (author, title,
notes, etc.), do combination searches, limit by date, language, library,
publication format.
- E-mail results to yourself.
- Follow links to the full text of some items.
- Request items held at the NRLF.
-
Help
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Guide
to Pathfinder [PDF]
|
- Renew books online.
- Find materials on reserve, by course or instructor.
- View a detailed display ("det") listing every
physical volume, with barcode and NRLF storage numbers.
- View order record information ("ord").
- Guide
to GLADIS [PDF]
- Find
NRLF materials on GLADIS
|
| |
Melvyl
The most complete catalog for all UC campus libraries
|
|
|
- Find books and other items on all UC campuses
What's included?
- See listings for several UCB campus libraries that are
not included in Pathfinder/GLADIS:
- Institute of Governmental Studies Library
- Institute of Transportation Studies Library
- Water Resources Center Archive.
- Law Library (through Oct. 2007 only; complete records are in LawCat and WorldCat)
- Search any part of the catalog record (author, title,
notes, etc.), do combination searches, limit by date, language,
campus, publication format.
- E-mail results to yourself.
- Follow links to the full text of some items.
- "Sign in" to create a workspace where you can
save searches and schedule regular updates.
- Help
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Guide to the Melvyl Catalog [PDF]
Note: The telnet version of Melvyl was retired from service in August 2007.
Melvyl® is a registered trademark of The Regents
of the University of California.
|
- Find books and other items in over 10,000 libraries, including many items in the UCB libraries.
- Note: This test system does not yet include all the materials that are represented in Melvyl. [Details]
- See which local libraries have an item, and check availability in their catalogs (items at UCB appear first, along with their current availability status).
- Find UC books digitized by Google and materials from the Online Archive of California, UC eScholarship Repository, and UC Press.
- Find magazine and journal articles from the ArticleFirst, British Library Inside, ERIC (education), and Medline databases.
- Bookmark items using del.icio.us, Digg, and similar tools.
- Automatically format citations for your bibliography.
- Export citations to EndNote or RefWorks.
- Read Amazon.com reviews or write your own.
- Save items in personalized lists (requires free registration).
- Help
- Frequently Asked Questions
- WorldCat.org tutorial
|
|
|
| |
- Other library catalogs
(UC campuses, local public libraries, etc.)
- Directory of library catalogs
- Union catalogs combining listings from many libraries
|
Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
Last updated 11/13/08. Server manager: contact
|